Ghost announce a new album titled Impera, drop pre-sales

Hard rock superstars Ghost announce a new album, titled Impera, and drop pre-sale links.

Almost three years ago, Ghost predicted a plague would befell the kingdom of man on their hit album, Prequelle, which was nominated for a 2018 Best Rock Album Grammy. Most recently, Ghost appeared on the soundtrack to the Halloween Kills film, and released two versions of the song Hunter’s Moon that appeared on that score.

Although Ghost were slated to release their new album last year, they chose not to do so until it became possible once again to tour. Having already predicted a global pandemic, perhaps they now too have predicted its end. Let’s hope so, as the world needs a return to normality – whatever that even means. With the new record now slated for a March 11th release, we can only assume a tour will soon be announced as well.

See Also: Mayhem release visual masterpiece for Black Glass Communion

The groups fifth full-length, Impera, comes out on March 11 via Loma Vista Recordings. The band also revealed a new single from the upcoming record, named Call Me Little Sunshine, the second single following last autumn’s Hunter’s Moon. In other related news, Ghost frontman Papa Emeritus, better known as Tobias Forge, let slip that the forthcoming album, Impera, will feature longtime Opeth guitarist Fredrik Åkesson.

Åkesson has been a member of of Opeth since the release of 2017’s Watershed, and the acknowledgement by Forge, that Åkesson will indeed partake on the new record goes against the bands usual anonymity as to whom is actually in the group – the Nameless Ghouls have tradition been, nameless. Hence the name, the nameless… ghouls. Anyway!

Check out the new music video for Call Me Little Sunshine below.

A nice baby blue variant of Impera can be found on Ghost’s official website, up for pre-order right now. Hurry – this will sell out fast. Many other variants are available from many other sources. First pressings of the vinyl version come with a limited edition slipmat and a twenty-eight page book. So many different colors and packages are available, as well as Compact Discs and cassette tapes, too. And digital versions, of course.

Track Listing:

01. Imperium
02. Kaisarion
03. Spillways
04. Call Me Little Sunshine
05. Hunter’s Moon
06. Watcher In The Sky
07. Dominion
08. Twenties
09. Darkness At The Heart Of My Love
10. Griftwood
11. Bite Of Passage
12. Respite On The Spitalfields