The Real McKenzies announce new album, stream first single

Avast ye landlubbers! Take heed, for a brand new slab of Celtic Punk is about to set sail from The Real McKenzies.

These salty Canadian sea dogs have been at it since 1992. Patrolling the waters between Vancouver all the way to Halifax – and back. A pioneer of the Celtic punk genre and a staple in Canadian kilt jigging, no bollocks, drinking tunes.

Like a fine Scotch, The Real McKenzies grow better with age. On July 3rd, 2020, their next chapter will see the light of day. This, their twelfth album – titled “Beer And Loathing”,  launches on Fat Wreck Chords and Stomp Records in Canada.

The Real McKenzies have also said, that the shows that were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic will be postponed. Those shows being in Lethbridge, Calgary, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Regina and Medicine Hat. Alongside Stomp Records recording artists the Real Sickies.

The initial pressing of “Beer And Loathing” will consist of 400 copies on swamp green, 400 on beer piss yellow. 300 copies on oxblood will be available in Europe. And the band themselves will have 100 copies on gold to traffic. And. of course, an undisclosed number will be available on traditional black vinyl. Bundles of multiple colored copies are also available. Pick your poison, and pick wisely!

While we all await the new record, we can rest easy while streaming the first single off of the new opus. “Beer And Loathing” can be heard right here, in the box below.


Track listing :

01. A Widow’s Watch
02. Overtoun Bridge
03. Big Foot Steps
04. Beer & Loathing
05. Cock Up Your Beaver
06. Nary Do Gooder
07. Death Of The Winnipeg Scene
08. 36 Barrels
09. Whose Child Is This
10. The Ballad Of Cpl. Hornburg
11. The Cremation Of Sam McGee
12. A Seafarer’s Return

Pre-orders can be secured now. Through Stomp Records in Canada and Fat Wreck Chords in all other territories. The new album, “Beer And Loathing“, is available in a variety of vinyl record options, on Compact Disc or as a digital download or stream.